The Stichting the European Juggling Association

The European Juggling Association (EJA) is a non-profit organisation of European jugglers. Its legal base is the “Stichting European Juggling Association” in Amsterdam. It was founded 1987 in Saintes (France) when, for the first time, over a thousand jugglers came to the European Juggling Convention (EJC).

The main purpose of the EJA is to maintain the continuity of the European Juggling Convention and to promote juggling. In order to do this, it supports the organisation of the EJCs in many ways: It provides information and experience from helping with previous EJCs. It runs a pre-registration system and promotes the EJCs in many European countries. It also supports the EJC via start-up loans. It may also give some financial assistance to individual projects. It works with the organisers of the EJCs.

There is no formal membership, but every juggler who comes to the EJC is eligible to vote on the General Assembly. Votes are held to determine where successive EJCs will be held and also to choose jugglers to be Country Representatives for two years.
The Country Representative works as a contact in that country, promotes the EJC and maintains the network of juggling clubs and societies. The Country Representatives and representatives from past EJCs (Festival Representatives) form the Board of the EJA, who elect an Executive Committee (XC) and also vote on decisions concerning the direction the EJA should take.

People work with the EJA on a purely voluntary basis in order to promote the unique character of juggling in Europe and to keep the European Juggling Conventions from becoming too commercial.

The inner working of the European Juggling Association

The EJA consists of several parts and a totals a few dozen members with their unique assignments.

The EJA Board is an official organ of the EJA with the right to take and enact decisions in the name of EJA. The board elects the Executive Committee and takes decisions on all matters that the XC puts forward to a decision.

The board typically meets in person several times during an EJC. Recently, online board meetings have also become standard practice. The matters are decided based on a simple majority during board meetings. Non-voting members, such as Country Contacts can be invited to the board meetings at the discretion of the XC.

Member of the EJA board.

The voting members of the EJA board are members of the Executive Committee (XC), Country Representatives and Festival Representatives

The Executive Committee (XC) is an official organ of the EJA with the right to take and enact decisions in the name of EJA. It consists of the president, secretary and treasurer.
XC is responsible for the day-to-day affairs of the association including dealing with the organising teams, coordinating work inside the EJA and outside representation. The XC can also appoint special roles at their discretion to help them with the tasks at hand. These members do not have a formal vote on the board, but are an invaluable part of the Association. 

There is currently an appointed Pre-reg Coordinator:  Linde Janssens, in charge of the process of the pre-registration.

Members of the XC are elected for a period of three years by the EJA Board. The XC can be reached directly by directors(at)

Jonas Fathy

President of the EJA since 2020

Caroline "Mittens" Christie

Secretary of the EJA since 2019

Michael "Bubba" Hance

Treasurer of the EJA since 2020

The Country Representatives are responsible for representing their country in the EJA and are voting members of the Board. Each country within Europe can have one Country Representative. Country Representatives are elected at the EJA General Assembly by all jugglers from their country for a term of two years.

Which countries are currently represented on the EJA Board?

Country Representatives from Austria, Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Republic of Ireland, Italy, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, Spain, Turkey and the United Kingdom are currently on the board of the European Juggling Association.


The Festival Representatives are responsible for representing their organising team of a past or future EJC in the EJA. They are valuable members of the board relaying important experience from past convention to new members and organising teams.

Festival Representatives are voting members of the Board. The EJA Board decides annually which festivals are eligible to appoint or maintain a Festival Representative based on their activity and involvement with the EJA.

Which festivals are currently represented on the EJA Board?

Festival Representatives from 2019 Newark, 2018 Sao Miguel, 2017 Lublin, 2016 Almere, 2015 Bruneck, 2014 Millstreet, 2013, 2012 Lublin. 2011 Munich, 2009 Vitoria, 2008 Karlsruhe, 2006 Millstreet, 2005 Ptuj, 2000 Karlsruhe, 1991 Verona are currently represented on the EJA Board.

The EJA General Assembly is a semi-official organ of the EJA. It is not part of the statutes but takes decisions on behalf of EJA. It takes place yearly at the EJC and is open to interested jugglers to attend; each attendant is a voting member of the General Assembly.

What happens at the EJA General Assembly?

At the General Assembly, EJA gives its yearly report to the jugglers on matters of the EJA and (past and upcoming) EJCs.

The General Assembly elects:

  • the Country Representatives
  • the Festival Representatives
  • the hosting teams for future EJCs